Error Messages...

Sep 30, 2010 at 7:26 PM

Hello,

I'm new to Resource Management Client coding (but have been writing code for a looooong time), and have a quick question on error messages: is there a way to get more useful error messages?  I'm creating error scenarios around adding users to groups to test my error handling.  The only message I receive in code is: The endpoint could not be dispatched... and if I look in the FIM Log, I see No corresponding start element is open.  Is there a way to parse out the lower level error?  The Code property doesn't help, nor does the InnerException.

I'd be completely comfortable modifying the ResourceManagement client code, if necessary.  Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

Gary

Developer
Sep 30, 2010 at 10:29 PM

Hi Gary,

The client only has as much information as is passed back from the web service.

You can enable service and message tracing in the web service client app config to see the exact message that comes back from the service. From there, you can examine the entire soap message to see if there is more information that could be useful. If so, you can enhance the message deserializer and make the date available. Any work in this area would be greatly appreciated.

-Jeremy

Sent: Thursday, September 30, 2010 11:27 AM
To: jeremy@palenchar.net
Subject: Error Messages... [fim2010client:229191]

Hello,

I'm new to Resource Management Client coding (but have been writing code for a looooong time), and have a quick question on error messages: is there a way to get more useful error messages? I'm creating error scenarios around adding users to groups to test my error handling. The only message I receive in code is: The endpoint could not be dispatched... and if I look in the FIM Log, I see No corresponding start element is open. Is there a way to parse out the lower level error? The Code property doesn't help, nor does the InnerException.